REVIEW: Tarte amazonian clay full coverage airbrush foundation

What a title this product has! I’ve wanted to try a powder foundation for a while and when I was on qvc to purchase one of the tarte blushes I clocked this little guy! I watched a review by essie button and leighannsays and thought wow this stuff isn’t like finishing powder it actually looks like foundation! You may think this is a stupid thought but I’ve never really got how powder foundations manage to work, I mean it’s powder right.

Anyways I tried this as soon as it came in the post and the first time I was way WAY heavy handed haha cause I guess I thought you had to use loads for it to work which is stupid having seen the reviews but needless to say it didn’t look good. Now I’ve got the hang of this and I just load the brush up three times, one for each side of my face and one for my forehead and I’m done! I could probably get away with wearing just loading the brush twice. I’ve got the shade fair honey and It’s a perfect match for me, I don’t know if I have peachy undertones but I’m really pale so I went with the lightest and this is the shade essie button reviewed and her skin tone is pretty similar to mine.

I would agree with the full coverage claim as for my imperfections, it does cover them and I don’t feel the need for concealer unless I have a really bad spot. I do put concealer under my eyes to cover those pesky bags but come on now does anyone know of a foundation that covers them too?! I feel it really does look airbrushed too. I don’t know if it’s because other than this and my Chanel foundation I’ve never had any high-end bases until a month or so ago so I’m easily pleased, but this stuff really is beautiful to use and in terms of ease of application i.e not getting liquid all over my hands then this really is the one! In terms of staying power compared to my chanel vitalumiére aqua foundation, I would say liquid wins BUT with this powder foundation you can re apply on any problem areas and it doesn’t look cakey/obvious/awful so it’s not really a problem and I’ve only noticed it ’cause I’ve been BAKING at work recently. As above application really is a breeze and the brush that comes with it from qvc is AMAZING. It’s the softest brush to ever of graced my face and is the perfect tool for the foundation as it matches in size with the netting and picks up the perfect amount of product. You can buy it from here for £34.00 plus postage.

The packaging is so cute and really practical. I don’t know how the whole netting thing works but for us consumers it basically means we aren’t going to get covered in powder which with loose finishing powder’s I’ve had before with the generic top is something that definitely happens and can create a lot of waste but not with this beauty! The lid also has an inbuilt stopper so when you open it you won’t found the powder all over the place, it really is ingenious and makes working with a powder formula super easy and practical for when you are in a rush! I use the dotting then buffing technique instead of buffing straight away so I get an even finish otherwise I think you are in danger applying the product too heavily in one place.

I think you can tell by how much I’ve written I’m pretty smitten, oh rhyming. This is all I’ve been using since it came, sorry chanel! It’s just so easy to apply and looks really good, what a winner! – Amy x

Twitter | Bloglovin | Instagram

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Tarte amazonian clay full coverage airbrush foundation

Leave a Reply

