HUGE New York drugstore haul and review

Not only did I spend a lot on high-end makeup when I went to NYC, I also spent just as much in the drugstores, my bad! This is a combination of Walgreens, Duane Reade, Target and CVS. I was literally in heaven, especially going into Target, it was all my store dreams rolled into one haha but seriously going into a shop you’ve heard so much about as well as seeing all these brands and makeup you’ve only ever seen online, for someone that loves makeup it is pretty cool! So I’ve had this stuff for a while so I can give you a little review of everything too and what I think is worth getting.

Bases, contour and cheeks:

Elf blush palette, sonia kashuk bronze and blush, wet n wild blush, wet n wild illuminating palette, wet n wild contouring palette, milani baked blushes and physicians formula insta ready contour stick.

Elf hydrating face primer, sonia kashuk radiant+ tinted moisturizer, nyc smooth skin foundation, covergirl outlast stay fabulous foundation, elf contouring brush, wet n wild photo focus fixing spray.

Base products that I think you should check out include the Elf hydrating face primer because it feels amazingly fresh to apply and my foundation goes on super smoothly when I use it and doesn’t make it feel like I’m tugging my skin like others do. I also love the Covergirl stay fabulous foundation as it is a great colour match, goes on smoothly and lasts. The wet n wild setting spray is also really good and comparable in quality to the urban decay original setting spray in my opinion. The other thing I didn’t love was the NYC foundation as I only brought it because it was 86 cent and thought it would be dark enough to be used as a contour but actually it’s too light for that and too dark as a foundation so I ended up giving it away, nothing wrong with the formula though.

Cheek products I really rate are the Milani baked blushes, they are absolutely stunning colours, applying beautifully and actually last on my skin and it is really nice to have a subtle shimmer for a change as previously I would always go for matte cheeks. I also really love the sonia kashuk bronze and blush duo. The blush is a beautiful orangey peach and the bronze looks like it would be way too much but actually looks stunning on the skin and isn’t glittery or ridiculously shimmery like it looks it would be. Another highlight pardon the pun haha is the wet n wild highlight palette, I love swirling all the colours together and it creates a stunning intense highlight but can also be used with a light hand. To be honest I love all the cheek products I got hah!

Eyes:

Covergirl the super sizer mascara, wet n wild fanatic cat eyes, barry m that’s how I roll (from heathrow airport), wet n wild eye brush, wet n wild colouricon kohl liner and wet n wild nude eyeliner.

These mascara’s are the friggin’ bomb.com. I wish I had brought more of the wet n wild and cover girl ones but I think I can get them on Amazon. The super sizer and fanatic mascaras REALLY give my lashes length and volume and they are comparable to the likes of Tarte’s lights, camera, lashes and my favourite Lancome hypnose drama mascara. The Barry m mascara is really good for the bottom lashes as the brush disperses the product evenly so you aren’t left with unattractive clumpy lashes underneath and it doesn’t transfer on me.

Wet n wild eye shadow trio’s in silent treatment and I’m getting sunburned, wet n wild glitter in brass, bleached and groupie, wet n wild eyeshadow in brulee and wet n wild comfort zone palette.

Maybelline colour tattoo in deep forest, elf eyeshadow quad, elf all over colour stick in pink and wet n wild glitter in binge.

My favourite eye products are the wet n wild pressed glitters, for the price (between $1-$2) they are amazing!!! The wet n wild palettes in general are incredible but my favourite is the comfort zone palette especially the bottom right definer shade, it is a stunning duo chrome shade. The elf products weren’t amazing however the were from the dollar section so yano, you’ve gotta try these things haha.

Lips:

Nyx lingerie in teddy and honeymoon, nyx liquid suede in stonefox and soft spoken and nyx butter lipstick in pops.

Nyx for lip products is always a win. The formula is always spot on and they have great nudes as well as more unusual colours. I got the Nyx lingerie liquid lipsticks before they came out in the UK and it was great to actually be able to test all the colours out.

Elf matte lip colour in tea rose and a pretty red, wet n wild lip liners, la girl matte lipstick in grey, la girl lip paint and milani moisture lock lip treatment.

Barry m matte lipstick (from heathrow airport), a shit ton of wet n wild lipsticks and maybelline vivid matte liquid lipstick in red.

Wet n wild lipsticks hands down are the bomb.com as you can see I got quite a few haha. It kinda became a game of getting every colour I liked which was nearly all of them and because they are so cheap why not! The maybelline vivid matte liquid lipstick is also really nice, not extremely matte but a nice comfortable formula and a stand out vivid red.

Nails:

Wet n wild 1 step wonder gel, Kylie Jenner sinful colours true kolor, Essie polish and barry m mani mask in birthday suit (from heathrow airport).

The wet n wild 1 step wonder gel is amazing!! I wish I had tried it out in New York because I would of got allllll the colours! The Kylie Jenner polish is a super pretty unique shade and being sinful colours is great quality for a cheap price.

Target bits:

Eos lip balms and eos hand cream.

I am obsessed with the eos lip balms and target was the cheapest place I’d found to buy them as the price varied a lot. I also really like the hand cream as they tend to annoy me but this one completely sinks in and doesn’t leave a horrible feeling.

Wet n wild coloricon ombré blush in the princess daiquiries and in a purple haze. 

These ombré blushes are apparently exclusive to Target and I am so happy I found them as Tati on youtube raved about them and she has great taste. I think there were 4 shades to choose from but I liked these two the most. They are beautiful if you mix the lighter and darker shade together or use them singularly and are a bargain for essentially having three different blush shades in one compact.

So as you can see girl went shopping! Hopefully what I’ve found to be great products will help you out in buying some new bits you haven’t tried before. Stand out brand is definitely wet n wild, I wish we had it here!! If you want any more info on shade names I haven’t given just let me know and I shall dig them out as everything has worked it’s way into my stash now as I took this pictures a while ago now. Everything I brought was definitely worth the over weight baggage charge haha. I am tempted to do a ‘what’s in my bag?’ with my Michael Kors bag I brought in New York as it is my first designer bag and biggest purchase even though I got it from Nordstrom rack and saved a ton but let me know if that is something you would be interested in!

Update:
As I came back from hols at the end of March I have obviously done more shopping as clearly I needed more makeup haha so keep your eyes peeled for more hauls and reviews. I am really hoping to be more active on my little corner of the web as I love taking pictures and really enjoy writing. My mood can change a lot because I have bpd (Borderline personality disorder) but I am trying to kinda not ignore it I guess but work with it and when I am feeling positive and productive to make the most of it. I also had/have a Vitamin D deficiency so getting that sorted/sorting it is definitely giving me more energy! *party*

Talk soon! – Amy x

Twitter | Bloglovin | Instagram

Leave a Reply

